About Miami

Miami is a public university of Ohio. Approximately 16,500 undergraduates and 2,400 graduate students are enrolled at the Oxford campus. Each year about 220 of the undergraduates attend one or two semesters at the John E. Dolibois European campus in Differdange, Luxembourg. Two regional campuses in the nearby cities of Hamilton and Middletown enroll nearly 4,100 additional students.

Miami's Voice of America Learning Center services several hundred undergraduates and graduate students each session in a multipurpose instructional facility that also offers customized training opportunities for business, industry, school districts, and government agencies.

Academic Divisions and Programs

Miami has seven academic divisions: College of Arts and Science; Farmer School of Business; College of Creative Arts, College of Education, Health and Society; College of Engineering and Computing, College of Liberal Arts and Applied Science, and the Graduate School. Programs leading to associate, bachelor's, master's, Specialist in Education, and doctoral degrees are offered. Major areas, degrees, and certificates are listed beginning later in this section. Graduate certificates are also available.

Location

The main campus of Miami University is in Oxford, Ohio, just 35 miles northwest of Cincinnati and 45 miles southwest of Dayton. Both Cincinnati and Dayton international airports are within an hour's drive. U.S. Route 27 and S.R. 73 are the main highways to Oxford.

Oxford is a classic college town with a population of about 8,000 (excluding students). Uptown, adjacent to campus, are small shops and local eateries.

The university covers more than 2,400 acres in Oxford. Preservation of nature throughout the campus and community coupled with Miami's architectural continuity - modified Georgian design - explains why the campus is regarded as one of the most beautiful in the nation.

University Officers, Deans, and Chairs

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees consists of nine voting members, up to six non-voting National Trustees and two student non-voting members. The nine voting members are appointed one each year for nine-year terms by the governor of Ohio, with the advice and consent of the Senate. A term expires on the last day of February of the year listed. National Trustees are appointed by the Board for 3-year terms (maximum two terms). The two student non-voting members are appointed for two-year staggered terms by the governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. A list of members can be found at miamioh.edu/about-miami/leadership/president/bot/membership/.

President's Executive Cabinet

A list of cabinet members can be found at miamioh.edu/about-miami/leadership/president/pec/.

Academic and Division Deans

A list of deans can be found at miamioh.edu/academic-affairs/about/deans/.

Academic Departments and Chairs

A list of departments and chairs can be found at miamioh.edu/academic-affairs/about/chairs-directors/.

Graduate School

A list of graduate school staff can be found at miamioh.edu/graduate-school/about/staff/.

Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is composed of 13 faculty members elected by the graduate faculty and three graduate students selected by the Graduate Student Association. The council works with administrative officers in establishing policies and procedures affecting graduate education, reviewing new courses and curricula, and maintaining standards for all programs. A list of representatives can be found at miamioh.edu/graduate-school/faculty-staff-resources/grad-council/.

Graduate Program Directors

A list of graduate program directors can be found at miamioh.edu/ graduate-school/faculty-staff-resources/grad-program-directors/.